WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

GRADUATE STUDIES COUNCIL Minutes of Thursday, 19 April 2018, 3 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center

Members present: Michele Behr, Louann Bierlein Palmer, Carla Chase, Michael Duffy, Clifton Ealy, Jennifer Fiore, Tim Michael, Amaury Pineda, David Reinhold (designee for provost), Zahra Ameli Renani, Silvia Rossbach, Linda Shuster, Brian Young, and Zahir Quraeshi (substitute for Alhassan Mumuni) Member absent: Christine Byrd-Jacobs Advisory member absent: Edwin Martini Guests: Kim Ballard, Director, WMU Writing Center; Eva Copija, Faculty Specialist II, Center for English Language and Culture for International Students; Thomas Marks, Director, CELCIS; Marianne Di Pierro, Graduate College; Richard Gershon, Faculty Senate President Elect

A. Procedural / Information Items

Council Chair Louann Bierlein Palmer called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m.

Welcome

Those present were welcomed.

Acceptance of the Agenda It was moved and seconded to accept the agenda, and the motion passed.

Approval of the Minutes of 22 March 2018 <u>It was moved and seconded to approve the minutes of 22 March, and the motion</u> passed with a vote of 12 yes; 0 no; 0 abstain.

An update was provided on the past graduate procedures and policies